Be a Supporter!
LemonCrush
LemonCrush
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Soundfont help Feb. 9th, 2013 @ 03:17 PM Reply

So I'm new to sound fonts and just downloaded a pack of really cool ones.

It's mostly sample based so this may be the root of my problem, but...

Like, for example, one is a really awesome orchestra hit...or a really cool string drone thing. But the thing is, when I hold down a key, the sample just loops and you can hear the attack of the note every time, so you just get these clicks and I can't sustain notes on certain samples.

Is there a way to edit soundfonts or samples to not loop like that and sustain notes? Or at least lessen the attack so I don't hear that click every time the sample loops? Is there anyway to edit parameters of sound fonts like you can with a VST or synth?

PSvils
PSvils
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Game Developer
Response to Soundfont help Feb. 9th, 2013 @ 03:31 PM Reply

Soundfonts ARE sample based, a soundfont file is basically a bunch of different samples with some extra meta info strapped together in a file.

Control of soundfonts is dependent on the VST you're using. FL Studio has DIrectWave player which gives you lots of control over envelopes and loop points etc., so you can play around with that to change the loop points to get rid of the clicking hopefully.

Ideally soundfonts are already set up with good sustain loop points.

P.

LemonCrush
LemonCrush
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Soundfont help Feb. 9th, 2013 @ 03:35 PM Reply

At 2/9/13 03:31 PM, PSvils wrote: Soundfonts ARE sample based, a soundfont file is basically a bunch of different samples with some extra meta info strapped together in a file.

Control of soundfonts is dependent on the VST you're using.

The VST I'm using is Font!SF2...it's vary basic and doesn't have any editing capabilities. It only has controls for volume and panning....which VST should I be using? I use Reaper...

LemonCrush
LemonCrush