New Topic Respond to this Topic
Wolftacular
Wolftacular
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 05
Blank Slate
C++ Comparing signs of two numbers Feb. 6th, 2013 @ 11:31 PM Reply

So I was writing up a little program to do matrices for me and while writing my program I was faced with a situation:

I had to compare the signs of two numbers x and y and determine if they had different signs or not.

So, of course, first thing that came to my mind was to multiply x*y

if ( x*y > 0 ){
//numbers have same sign
} else {
//numbers have different signs
}

Perfect! Until I plugged in big numbers and I got overflows. So for the sake of my program's integrity and my learning (since I wasn't planning on using big numbers), I ran a quick search on a good way of accomplishing such a task, and ran into a bunch of solutions, most of which I honestly didn't understand (I'm still a beginner), until it occurred to me...

If the problem is that the product of the two numbers is too big, what if I divided each number by itself? Well, no, because then my numbers would both become positive 1s, regardless of what their original signs were. But what about dividing each number by its own absolute value??

//abs() returns the absolute value of a number
if( ( (x/abs(x)) * (y/abs(y)) ) > 0){
//numbers have same sign
} else {
//numbers have different signs
}

Surely someone had thought of this before. So I just wanted to ask why this would be a bad solution, or rather, why this isn't the best solution?

Thank you all for your time!

Diki
Diki
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 13
Programmer
Response to C++ Comparing signs of two numbers Feb. 7th, 2013 @ 12:16 AM Reply

You could just write a simple function to do it.
No need for multiplication or division.

template <class NumTy>
bool matchingSigns(NumTy a, NumTy b) {
    return a < (NumTy)0 == b < (NumTy)0;
}

Since it's a template it will work for any given number type, be it a signed or unsigned char/short/int, or a float/double.