00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Crakie20 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

NG Iphone app? 2013-02-03 05:29:50

Hi! Im not an expert in this subject, but wouldn't it be possible to make a Newgrounds Iphone app for animations now that SWF can be easily converted to the suitable movie format?
It could be a separate "Iphone animations" portal all together, or maybe the app could filter submissions based on if their format would work on the Iphone.
Could this be a good way to promote Newgrounds and could it be beneficial for content creators? Sorry if this topic has already been discussed.
Just an idea...

Response to NG Iphone app? 2013-02-03 05:46:32

Any promotion is good promotion, though it feels like a whole new portal for entries viewable on iPhones would take significant work to make. Good idea though.

The latest: Hexa #95 (Mar)

BBS Signature

Response to NG Iphone app? 2013-02-07 22:23:40

It would be pretty stupid. This is a (mostly) Flash based site and Flash is not supported on iOS. Also, generally all smartphones do not support Flash because it's made for a computer.

As of other content like video, music and forums I think it'll be good for people already on Newgrounds. I don't see it recruiting new people to the site.

But I'm not saying it's a really bad idea, just that the site is not widely used on smartphones in general

Response to NG Iphone app? 2013-02-08 15:09:14

At 2/7/13 10:23 PM, uglybetty wrote: It would be pretty stupid. This is a (mostly) Flash based site and Flash is not supported on iOS. Also, generally all smartphones do not support Flash because it's made for a computer.

As of other content like video, music and forums I think it'll be good for people already on Newgrounds. I don't see it recruiting new people to the site.