New Topic Respond to this Topic
Astral-Coder
Astral-Coder
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Too late to become a programmer? Feb. 1st, 2013 @ 02:12 AM Reply

Hello, I wanted to pick programming up as a profession. I have some experience with AS 3.0, C++, java, and VB. I wouldn't consider myself an expert using these though.

My main question, is it possible to pick programming up as a profession in your 20's or even 30's? I've been led to believe that you have to start programming at a very young age 11- 16, to become a good programmer.

Am I too late to learn programming and to pick it up as a profession at 22?

Thanks for reading, have a good day. :]

deckheadtottie
deckheadtottie
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 58
Programmer
Response to Too late to become a programmer? Feb. 1st, 2013 @ 07:16 AM Reply

I went back to uni at the ripe-old age of 23 to study computing, specifically with becoming a programmer in mind. I walked into that university knowing nothing* at all about programming. The first year was a real struggle, but I studied hard and practised every single day. It was tough to see some students pick it up with ease, but I put that down to being out of education for 5 years. In fact, if anything, it motived me more.

Now, and I'm not bragging because my uni isn't exactly renowned for it's computer science department, I would put myself at the top 5%-10% of the class when it comes to programming. I still have a lot to learn, however.

It's crazy to think that in June I will have a degree, but it feels like at the moment I haven't achieved enough. Looking back to where I was three years ago though shows I've achieved everything I wanted.

It's cliche advice, but you can do whatever you want if you set your mind to it. Sadly too many people sit back and expect to be spoon-fed everything- that is just not possible when it comes to programming.