New Topic Respond to this Topic
grachamoncha
grachamoncha
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Orchestral FL studio 10 help! Jan. 18th, 2013 @ 02:07 PM Reply

So, I've dabbled a bit in dubstep/chillstep/electronic music in general but I would like to give orchestral scores a spin and see what I can manage to do. I have a lot of knowledge with piano and such like but I just need some guidelines on how to get started. Much appreciated.

Breed
Breed
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 11
Musician
Response to Orchestral FL studio 10 help! Jan. 18th, 2013 @ 02:36 PM Reply

find good sounds

study orchestration

emulate inspiring scores styles

experiment

have fun

DivoFST
DivoFST
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 16
Musician
Response to Orchestral FL studio 10 help! Jan. 18th, 2013 @ 02:48 PM Reply

At 1/18/13 02:36 PM, Breed wrote: find good sounds

Im still stuck in this part xD

No mather how good you are sometime, somewhere, somehow...
Someone will blow your mind and make feel a beginner again..

BBS Signature
Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 15
Musician
Response to Orchestral FL studio 10 help! Jan. 18th, 2013 @ 02:54 PM Reply

At 1/18/13 02:36 PM, Breed wrote: find good sounds

study orchestration

emulate inspiring scores styles

experiment

have fun

What he said.
And even if you don't have the best sounds, try making good of the sounds that you have and turning them into a good addition into your orchestral score.

AMDG ✝

Blank slate, with no project files from years past to base oneself on.

BBS Signature
ChainsawPolice
ChainsawPolice
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Musician
Response to Orchestral FL studio 10 help! Jan. 19th, 2013 @ 03:28 AM Reply

A lot of it lies in EQing and effects. You can get some pretty lush piano sounds of FL Keys (shock horror!) with some creative EQing and reverb.

As for orchestral sounds, a huge sample pack might be your best bet; they use alot of sing-hit samples which sound good when played right.