primarypanel
primarypanel
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Animator
Audio questions Jan. 14th, 2013 @ 08:32 PM Reply

Hey everyone,

Watching other flash animations, I can't quite seem to get the quality I'm looking for, and I'm wondering what kinds of steps/programs people are using.

As of right now, I'm using Audacity to record voices, but I can't get the volume/clarity that everyone else seems to get. Do you guys master your voice tracks? Or do something special? Thanks a lot, I'd really appreciate the advice and/or any tips.

AetherX
AetherX
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 10
Musician
Response to Audio questions Jan. 14th, 2013 @ 09:14 PM Reply

Disclaimer: I have no experience recording voices, this is just what other people always say.

Audacity should be sufficient, it's great for a free program. The first thing you should probably look at is your mic. No amount of mastering is going to turn something recorded with a cell phone into professional quality. That said, a bit of EQ doesn't hurt. Cut the extreme highs and lower the mids slightly, I think (don't quote me on that, you're better off looking up vocal EQing or something of that sort on Youtube).

Also, what kind of space are you recording in? RicePirate made this nice video about space:

• VO Home Studio : Space
    VO Home Studio : Space by RicePirate

How to Make a Home Recording Studio like you Robbed an Airport Baggage Claim

Score
    4.40 / 5.00
    Type
    Movie
    Popularity
    Rated
    Ages 13+

Hope this helps.

--NG Music -- Soundcloud--
Most Recent Song: Explore Infinity <-Failed audition to NGADM!

primarypanel
primarypanel
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Animator
Response to Audio questions Jan. 15th, 2013 @ 01:16 PM Reply

Thanks a lot, I really appreciate the tips and the video, helps out a great deal!

SuperBastard
SuperBastard
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 13
Artist
Response to Audio questions Jan. 15th, 2013 @ 08:52 PM Reply