New Topic Respond to this Topic
CrazyCale
CrazyCale
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Music Flow 2013-01-09 01:06:45 Reply

I write good parts to a song ,but sometimes I can't get them to flow into each other. For instance say im writing a verse, and I come up with a good chorus. How do I make a good transition? Are there any tricks or things too keep in mind?

(I'm not completely a noob to writing I make songs all the time on guitar. I'm new to fl studios though)

Blackhole12
Blackhole12
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 15
Game Developer
Response to Music Flow 2013-01-09 05:45:50 Reply

This is highly dependent on the genre of your song. Various styles each have their own methods of transitions, although for dealing with sharper transitions there tends to be a common theme of using a buildup and release of tension, such as a cymbal crash.

CrazyCale
CrazyCale
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Music Flow 2013-01-09 09:08:15 Reply

At 1/9/13 05:45 AM, Blackhole12 wrote: This is highly dependent on the genre of your song. Various styles each have their own methods of transitions, although for dealing with sharper transitions there tends to be a common theme of using a buildup and release of tension, such as a cymbal crash.

Yeah that makes sense. I often think of music as just buildup and release (especially during solos)
The type I'm mostly thinking of is orchestral so that does help. Thank you

JayenareMusic
JayenareMusic
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Music Flow 2013-01-09 14:17:13 Reply