00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

TwistSSD just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Drumline Help Needed

1,087 Views | 5 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Drumline Help Needed 2013-01-04 00:36:19

Hello there. I'm a music composer and what not. I'm proud of my learning curve, but i really need to work on writing a more interesting drum pattern and drum rolls (toms). I know how to keep it simple, but I find it hard to write an energetic/interesting drumline. Any advice? (or should i stop listening to Dream Theater? /sarcasm *shot* )

Boy, IT Sure is BOring AroUnd

Here. Lets GO Shoot SUmething

Response to Drumline Help Needed 2013-01-04 01:15:11

Or maybe you're not listening to enough Dream Theater.

Seriously though, what I do to come up with more interesting drum parts is I start with something simple, like a kick, snare, kick, snare... completely generic, and I'll start adding things, and moving things around, more or less randomly, give it a listen, then as I'm listening, I'll generally figure out what I do and don't like, and tweak from there.

No real set in stone method, sure, but experimenting is really the easiest way to come up with just about anything when it comes to music. If you don't know what you're going for, just start hitting things randomly, and sooner or later, you'll stumble upon a sequence of notes/hits that just sounds good.

Audio/BBS Mod

News: Bye bye Skype - Music: Tonight Will Be The Night- Art: Kira

\/\/\/ Click the sig for fun times! \/\/\/

BBS Signature

Response to Drumline Help Needed 2013-01-04 01:23:04

At 1/4/13 01:15 AM, Back-From-Purgatory wrote: Or maybe you're not listening to enough Dream Theater.