New Topic Respond to this Topic
GronmonSE
GronmonSE
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 06
Blank Slate
Top 7 tips you probably forgot~ Jan. 2nd, 2013 @ 02:18 AM Reply

I've been uploading my work on Newgrounds for the past 5 years, and in the spirit of New Years, I've decided to make a contribution to the community for all its provided me. This is also a thanks to all the people who have bothered reviewing my music but never got a respond back or a review in return. I'm horrible at reciprocating, so here's my attempt to amend that.

Regardless of how experienced you are or how much know, take the time to read these 5 tips that you might have forgotten when making music. These are small details that make your workflow easier, help you get more creative, keep you motivated, and even improve your skills as a side-effect. Here we go...

1. Be creative.

Probably the most obvious tip that comes to mind. Creativity is what makes you produce in first place. Everybody thinks and feels differently, which in turn makes them express their music differently. The second you stop trying to be creative as a musician is the second you get stuck and stop growing. Anyone else here ever had a creative block? Of course we all have, and it's not because we can't pump out new melodies or create new sounds, it's because -we stop trying to-. We start sticking only to what we know; we get comfortable. Always try out new techniques, find new sounds if you feel you new more. Personally, I'm a jack of all trades, I know a wide variety of techniques and I do a wide variety of genres, but I haven't mastered any of them, but by trying out new things, I can integrate everything I know into every new track. It's a world full of possibilities, and the more you learn, the more comfortable you'll be navigating new territory.

2. Don't slack.