Rational-Delirium
Rational-Delirium
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 15
Melancholy
swc class has same name as src clas Dec. 28th, 2012 @ 11:55 PM Reply

I'm new to AS3, and I'm trying to learn SWC files, but it's really outside my comfort zone. When I compile my SCW and add it to the library in FlashDevelop, everything works fine, namely, the name of the SWC file turns blue. The problem is that the classes which are associated with the symbols in the SWC library, have the exact same name as the classes that are in the SRC folder.

Here's a picture for example. I have two classes called Enemy.as. Main can't refer to the one in the swc folder, because the one in the lib folder has dominance. Yet I can't delete the one in the lib folder because the FLA automatically generates it upon compiling the SWC.

swc class has same name as src clas

You can't know what you don't know if you can only use yourself as a reference point.

Rational-Delirium
Rational-Delirium
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 15
Melancholy
Response to swc class has same name as src clas Dec. 28th, 2012 @ 11:58 PM Reply

At 12/28/12 11:55 PM, Rational-Delirium wrote: Here's a picture for example. I have two classes called Enemy.as. Main can't refer to the one in the swc folder..

I meant to say "Main can't refer to the one in the src folder.."

You can't know what you don't know if you can only use yourself as a reference point.

MintPaw
MintPaw
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 10
Programmer
Response to swc class has same name as src clas Dec. 29th, 2012 @ 01:06 AM Reply

Yeah, that's how swcs work, they create classes to be used as assets. The way I avoid this is I start every name in my swc with "Swc" so it'd be "SwcEnemy" and "SwcAvatar" to make sure there are no reference errors.

What you could also do is put them in folders and specify which by package name.

If ya have something to say, PM me. I have a lot of time to spare.
Also never PM egg82.

BBS Signature
Rational-Delirium