New Topic Respond to this Topic
iTzPhilip
iTzPhilip
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 04
Blank Slate
Opinion on abstract art. 2012-12-24 16:59:47 Reply

So, newgrounds, i've attempted at doing an abstract pencil-drawing. I'm not good with pencils but i've tried anyway since i've had an in my opinion, good ideea.
Anyhow, i was wondering what the newgrounds community might think about it. Some told me it looks Picasso-ish. I'm wondering what you think about the concept, not the actual drawing. Thank you in advance.

http://itzphilip.deviantart.com/art/Man-of-The-People-343491 896
Here's the link, the image is too big to post it here.

Spedmallet
Spedmallet
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 23
Artist
Response to Opinion on abstract art. 2012-12-24 19:16:44 Reply

This comment is based on what you have posted in the art portal.

While the concept of painting/drawing in abstract can be debated, what's generally been done by famous artists is that they, through practice, gain a solid ability to draw realistically before they shift over to abstract stuff.

What I'm getting at is I think you should practice trying to draw objects/still-lifes before you really try to develop an abstract style.

Dr. Spedmund McMallet

BBS Signature
Tomsan
Tomsan
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 21
Movie Buff
Response to Opinion on abstract art. 2012-12-24 20:08:22 Reply

At 12/24/12 04:59 PM, iTzPhilip wrote: Some told me it looks Picasso-ish. I'm wondering what you think about the concept, not the actual drawing. Thank you in advance.

well they probably say that because the picture is clearly inspired by picasso. The whole eye thing is pure picasso. and a bit of Munch / scream, also very abstract, is visible.

I am not impressed. the shapes are very simplistic, colors lacking (I understand its pencil work) and quite boring to watch. Also I believe its not really original.