New Topic Respond to this Topic
TheOfficialJHY
TheOfficialJHY
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Help with making a game? 2012-12-18 21:15:48 Reply

Okay so im new to the flash pro thing. So i've been wanting to make a game. That pretty much you can click around still pictures find items complete objectives and stuff, Something pretty simple. So any advice on what i should know? problems i would come across. and or any certain tutorials? any help would be much appreciated thank you.

pirateplatypus
pirateplatypus
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 15
Programmer
Response to Help with making a game? 2012-12-18 21:56:14 Reply

Every time someone codes on the timeline, god smites a kitten.

"If loving Python is crazy then I don't want to be sane." -Diki

Rational-Delirium
Rational-Delirium
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 15
Melancholy
Response to Help with making a game? 2012-12-19 14:43:20 Reply

If you're new at this, I'd recommend learning about buttons.

Learn what:

on(release)

and

on(press)

mean, and also learn what:

gotoAndStop();

and

gotoAndPlay();

mean.

Also, coding inside buttons and on the timeline is fine, and using ActionScript 2.0 would be the easiest.

You can't know what you don't know if you can only use yourself as a reference point.

egg82
egg82
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to Help with making a game? 2012-12-19 22:52:31 Reply

At 12/19/12 02:43 PM, Rational-Delirium wrote: Also, coding inside buttons and on the timeline is fine, and using ActionScript 2.0 would be the easiest.

oh, god, why? D:

no, don't learn AS2. Learn AS3 instead. It will save you so much time in so many ways it's ridiculous.

Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
MintPaw
MintPaw
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 10
Programmer
Response to Help with making a game? 2012-12-19 23:31:47 Reply