New Topic Respond to this Topic
ReverendHerby
ReverendHerby
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 02
Musician
Sound Design For Snes-style Game Dec. 16th, 2012 @ 06:42 PM Reply

So, I recently was signed on for another SNES-style game, meaning I'm going to be back to producing a lot of 8-bit (I think it's time to invest in more weed). However, this person was also hoping I could do sound design for the game. Normally, I'd say no, because I've never done it before, but in the case of a retro, low-fi game, it seems somewhat possible; after all, they were pretty limited at the time in what they could and couldn't do. Does anybody have any guides or advice I could look into? Am I just going to be using basic waveforms (square, sin, triange, et cetera), or did they use a different method to produce sound effects?

Troisnyx
Troisnyx
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Level 15
Musician
Response to Sound Design For Snes-style Game Dec. 16th, 2012 @ 08:22 PM Reply

At 12/16/12 06:42 PM, ReverendHerby wrote: So, I recently was signed on for another SNES-style game, meaning I'm going to be back to producing a lot of 8-bit (I think it's time to invest in more weed). However, this person was also hoping I could do sound design for the game. Normally, I'd say no, because I've never done it before, but in the case of a retro, low-fi game, it seems somewhat possible; after all, they were pretty limited at the time in what they could and couldn't do. Does anybody have any guides or advice I could look into? Am I just going to be using basic waveforms (square, sin, triange, et cetera), or did they use a different method to produce sound effects?

I have two words of advice for you.

Mario Paint.