Be a Supporter!
FallingTears
FallingTears
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Programmer
CSS3 Gradient 2012-12-12 14:01:37 Reply

Alright, for all you CSS3 prodigies, I have a fairly complex question. This is a situation that I've never been able to resolve. First, let me describe a scenario. I work at a web development company. We have graphics designers. We have web developers. The graphics designers throw the Web Developer's PSDs. We then use Photoshop to break these PSDs down into the images that we need to create websites.

Needless to say, I'm not a graphics designer. I've been thrown a challenge in which I would like to rise to the occasion and show that I have the skill to do said task.

Basically, I need to create a responsive website (this is great, because of the way the graphics are designed ... I get to do a little thing called "image raping." It's where you have to take images and cut them up into millions of little pieces, because they're raster images and aren't very scalable [I don't like cutting up pictures, I want to use one graphic that's not cut up]) that responds to changes in size, etc.

That being said, I noticed something interesting in the PSD. The graphics designer is using a double linear gradient. The top left corner has a color of rgb(84,84,84), bottom left corner (71,71,71), top right corner (72,72,72) and bottom right corner rgb(61,61,61). There is a very gradual gradient from the darker color to lighter in both directions.

Do you guys know if CSS3 is even capable of handling a double layered gradient like this? I can't use the image, because this gradient exists in the "scalable" section ..... the part of the image that will be a different size based on media being used and size of browser window.

BBS Signature
FallingTears
FallingTears
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Programmer
Response to CSS3 Gradient 2012-12-12 14:03:24 Reply