New Topic Respond to this Topic
ReverendHerby
ReverendHerby
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 02
Musician
How do you write your music? Nov. 11th, 2012 @ 07:05 PM Reply

This is especially aimed at those who produce electronic music, because I'm curious. Do you hear something in your head and then try to create that on the computer? Do you play around with a keyboard? Do you just put notes together in a program until it makes something you like?

Personally, I don't know how to play keyboard whatsoever. I'm a guitarist (well, primarily a bassist and drummer, but I play a bit of guitar as well), and I write almost everything on guitar. I'll play something, put it on the computer, then play over it to find the next part. Sometimes, I'll do the same thing on an electric bass, but for the most part, I write everything on an acoustic guitar. Does anyone else do something similar?

ChimeraNoise
ChimeraNoise
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 02
Musician
Response to How do you write your music? Nov. 11th, 2012 @ 07:09 PM Reply

I do the exact same thing. I, too, am primarily a physical musician. If I knew how to play keyboard it would be a different story. But, alas, I do not.

BBS Signature
Tydusis
Tydusis
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 06
Musician
Response to How do you write your music? Nov. 11th, 2012 @ 11:41 PM Reply

Well, I started out with zero knowledge and zero physical skill. Then I found a "training wheel" program (Audiotool in my case) where I started experimenting and making things without really knowing why they worked. I had only the ear for music back then. Then I started trying to pay closer attention to why the music I was "assembling like legos" worked. Then I took what I learned then and migrated my entire production and operation to Modplug so I could learnn how to make it all from scratch. I recently got a keyboard, which has greatly helped me understand music theory much better, now that I can physically practice what I learned and am still learning.