New Topic Respond to this Topic
Shayl
Shayl
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Artist
Shayl's Art Thread Oct. 31st, 2012 @ 10:37 AM Reply

Seeing as I"m having issues posting to the portal, I will post some things here instead!

I work as a web developer but my dream is to one day do concept art for either a game company or other entertainment genre.

Here's a gargoyle I'm still working on. This is my newest piece and likely my best to date, at least in terms of detail and cleanliness. A large portion of my other work (with some exceptions) is done as speedpainting (30-60 minutes max) and looks a bit messy.

Shayl's Art Thread

Shayl
Shayl
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Artist
Response to Shayl's Art Thread Oct. 31st, 2012 @ 10:40 AM Reply

This is also fairly new, but falls into the "speed painting" category. I really didn't know wtf to draw that night and Halloween just sort of came out at the end of my 60 minutes.

Shayl
Shayl
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Artist
Response to Shayl's Art Thread Nov. 7th, 2012 @ 06:24 PM Reply

This is a landscape I did as part of my "speedpainting"

I try to speedpaint every night, but sometimes I am tired. I did this one last night in about 45 minutes. I always make myself stop at 1hour no matter what, so sometimes things look messy! I learn a lot from doing this though.

I did this after watching some Bob Ross, though I mostly just wanted to paint in general after watching that, not paint like him. Do wish I could oil paint though.

For this I just wanted to quickly play with some light and maybe try to make Mars.

Shayl's Art Thread

bigjonny13
bigjonny13
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 52
Voice Actor
Response to Shayl's Art Thread Nov. 7th, 2012 @ 06:47 PM Reply

Got some pretty decent stuff here.
Did you end up finishing that gargoyle?

Shayl
Shayl
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Artist
Response to Shayl's Art Thread Nov. 7th, 2012 @ 07:11 PM Reply