Be a Supporter!

My first action animation

  • 400 Views
  • 8 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Hizu
Hizu
  • Member since: Jun. 22, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
My first action animation 2012-10-24 15:51:22 Reply

Hi NG. This is my first action flash movie I've made. It's not the absolute best, but I poured every ounce of my effort into this. I hope you will watch it and enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LLksW879WCM

(couldn't upload to NG because file became corrupted)


Check out my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iyueKVJMcbw

Mownkey
Mownkey
  • Member since: Sep. 1, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to My first action animation 2012-10-24 16:12:46 Reply

Looking at the motion of the characters, I'd say you used Anime Studio. That may be the reason why the file won't upload to Newgrounds - NG only accepts .swf, .mov and .mp4 files for now. I may be wrong though.
Looking at your movie, I really can say that you did put a lot of effort to get it done, there still may be some stuff to improve, like, why not try to get around some lip syncing?
The fight scenes looked very good. You figured out how to have more actions at the same time. Bravo!
One more thing - the proportions were a bit off, but I suppose you did it on a purpose?
Cheers.

Hizu
Hizu
  • Member since: Jun. 22, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to My first action animation 2012-10-24 16:16:34 Reply

At 10/24/12 04:12 PM, Mownkey wrote: Looking at the motion of the characters, I'd say you used Anime Studio. That may be the reason why the file won't upload to Newgrounds - NG only accepts .swf, .mov and .mp4 files for now. I may be wrong though.
Looking at your movie, I really can say that you did put a lot of effort to get it done, there still may be some stuff to improve, like, why not try to get around some lip syncing?
The fight scenes looked very good. You figured out how to have more actions at the same time. Bravo!
One more thing - the proportions were a bit off, but I suppose you did it on a purpose?
Cheers.

I used flash CS3 actually. As far as the proportions, they kept resizing themselves for some reason and I couldn't figure out why. Sometimes they're bigger and sometimes they're a lot smaller.


Check out my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iyueKVJMcbw

tohoscope
tohoscope
  • Member since: May. 16, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Animator
Response to My first action animation 2012-10-24 18:15:34 Reply

Do you really need three title screens? It opens with a really too long shot of the title, and then at 40 seconds you put the title up again and then once more at 1 minute? Is that really necessary? A 10 minute plus animation and you pad out the first minute by repeating the tile over and over again?

Hizu
Hizu
  • Member since: Jun. 22, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to My first action animation 2012-10-24 20:10:16 Reply

At 10/24/12 06:15 PM, tohoscope wrote: Do you really need three title screens? It opens with a really too long shot of the title, and then at 40 seconds you put the title up again and then once more at 1 minute? Is that really necessary? A 10 minute plus animation and you pad out the first minute by repeating the tile over and over again?

Well, like I said, the file was corrupted. I couldn't get back in to remove or change anything without CS3 crashing on me. If it pisses you off that much, you can skip/ignore it.


Check out my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iyueKVJMcbw

tohoscope
tohoscope
  • Member since: May. 16, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Animator
Response to My first action animation 2012-10-24 22:18:03 Reply

Heh, sorry. I'm not pissed. It just feels like you're padding. Adding things that aren't necessary just to make your runtime longer. If that's what you want that's cool. I thought you posted this for feedback. If you didn't want feedback then why did you post?

So, seriously, why repeat the title 3 times in the first minute?

Hizu
Hizu
  • Member since: Jun. 22, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to My first action animation 2012-10-25 13:08:39 Reply

At 10/24/12 10:18 PM, tohoscope wrote: Heh, sorry. I'm not pissed. It just feels like you're padding. Adding things that aren't necessary just to make your runtime longer. If that's what you want that's cool. I thought you posted this for feedback. If you didn't want feedback then why did you post?

So, seriously, why repeat the title 3 times in the first minute?

Thanks, I do want feedback. I didn't repeat it three times, the first time was going to be the main menu with the play, scene selection, and extra buttons on it, but I couldn't get back in to add it. The second time I wanted it to act as a gateway to the next scene when it zooms out. Just because it zooms into his name doesn't make it another title. The third one was the one I wanted to remove but couldn't. I could've done without that one, but trying to go back in and remove it just ended with CS3 crashing. If you were going to give me feedback, good or bad, I would've thought it would be on the animation itself, not the annoyances you found.


Check out my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iyueKVJMcbw

Hizu
Hizu
  • Member since: Jun. 22, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to My first action animation 2012-10-25 13:33:18 Reply

Also, I realize everything sounds kind of insulting on the Internet since there's no real "tone." Sorry if it sounds like I'm being a jerk, it's not my intentions.


Check out my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iyueKVJMcbw

Blitzkreig261
Blitzkreig261
  • Member since: Oct. 28, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Animator
Response to My first action animation 2012-10-29 12:25:46 Reply

its brilliant
5 star