Be a Supporter!

Auto updating game

  • 331 Views
  • 6 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
dartosgamer
dartosgamer
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Game Developer
Auto updating game Oct. 10th, 2012 @ 05:54 PM Reply

How can I make my flash game update on a browser without having the person clearing the cache. I tried using the updater from the newground API but for whatever reason it doesn't want to work.

Can anyone give me a shove in the right direction?

Thanks in advance,
Dartos


I gave it a shot and for some magical reason all is well. Thank you good sir.

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to Auto updating game Oct. 11th, 2012 @ 09:21 AM Reply

At 10/10/12 05:54 PM, dartosgamer wrote: How can I make my flash game update on a browser without having the person clearing the cache. I tried using the updater from the newground API but for whatever reason it doesn't want to work.

That'd have to be in the browser's logic. Either code a page to detect the newest version and run it against the version they're using, or just give the newest version a different name every time.


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
ProfessorFlash
ProfessorFlash
  • Member since: Oct. 6, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 32
Programmer
Response to Auto updating game Oct. 11th, 2012 @ 11:48 AM Reply

At 10/10/12 05:54 PM, dartosgamer wrote: How can I make my flash game update on a browser without having the person clearing the cache. I tried using the updater from the newground API but for whatever reason it doesn't want to work.

Can anyone give me a shove in the right direction?

Thanks in advance,
Dartos

Flash is a sandbox, it can't control your browser. That would be a pretty huge security risk if it could. You can just connect your flash app to somewhere (like your own server) and then do some stuff, but I have a feeling that's not what you are looking for here. I think you want a general flash side code that refreshes browser and that doesn't exist.


You can solve pretty much any problem you may have with AS3 by consulting the AS3 Language reference.

dartosgamer
dartosgamer
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Game Developer
Response to Auto updating game Oct. 12th, 2012 @ 08:04 PM Reply

Then what is the point of the version control in the API? Is there a way I can open a new page from my flash code that would do something? If not then how am I supposed to let players know that I made a new verison?


I gave it a shot and for some magical reason all is well. Thank you good sir.

dartosgamer
dartosgamer
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Game Developer
Response to Auto updating game Oct. 12th, 2012 @ 08:08 PM Reply

and by "something" I mean open a page with the newest version.


I gave it a shot and for some magical reason all is well. Thank you good sir.

Mattster
Mattster
  • Member since: Nov. 21, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 20
Game Developer
Response to Auto updating game Oct. 12th, 2012 @ 08:52 PM Reply

At 10/12/12 08:04 PM, dartosgamer wrote: Then what is the point of the version control in the API? Is there a way I can open a new page from my flash code that would do something? If not then how am I supposed to let players know that I made a new verison?

The API "New Version" will not get cached. If you have someone on "v1.0", and you update the version in the API tools to "v1.1", the newVersion flag will be set in the API Connect event. You could then suggest refreshing cache, or provide a link to where the official game is.

dartosgamer
dartosgamer
  • Member since: Jun. 26, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Game Developer
Response to Auto updating game Oct. 14th, 2012 @ 12:51 PM Reply

How could I link to the updated version if the old version of the game is cached? I suppose I could just suggest to clear out the cache.


I gave it a shot and for some magical reason all is well. Thank you good sir.