New Topic Respond to this Topic
SwedishPlumTrees
SwedishPlumTrees
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 02
Animator
Do you take your time or rush it? 2012-09-28 20:36:34 Reply

'Ello there. I've been making little animated shorts for about 2 years now, and for most of those shorts, my mindset was always "gotta finish as fast as possible." I always thought that if I was to ever be an animator, I would have to get used to being quick. However, now that I'm starting on a new animation, and I'm taking my time, I find that I like it more. I can go at my own pace, no stress, and my ideas flow more freely. I still give myself goals though. (I try to get in an hour of animation a day.) In your opinion, what's the best way to work? Do you rush it? Take your time? Thanks in advance :)

KhanhCPham
KhanhCPham
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Animator
Response to Do you take your time or rush it? 2012-09-28 20:49:30 Reply

Depends. I do sometimes feel that you learn a lot through quantity but sometimes I do things so fast that I dont feel like I learned anything. Sometimes when I animate a scene, I feel that I get too focus on one scene while I should be paying attention to the overall movie. I say if your doing a project for a client or as homework, just try to get it done before the deadline but if your doing your own project, try to find a right balance between "taking your time" and "rush."

Currently doing short rough animations here http://khanhcpham.deviantart.com/

sandwich-eater
sandwich-eater
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 41
Programmer
Response to Do you take your time or rush it? 2012-09-28 22:29:49 Reply

I'm usually on a deadline. When that happens, I start off doing it slowly, then quickly fall into procrastination and am forced to rush it in the last few days.

When I'm not on a deadline though, I tend to do a Travis and rush it near the end, just because I'm so eager to get it done.

BBS Signature
Asperchu
Asperchu
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 03
Blank Slate