DanBlam
DanBlam
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Music Making Software Or Similar? Sep. 26th, 2012 @ 06:03 AM Reply

Hey all,

I'm just starting out as a composer, and I was wondering what software you guys use.

-Dan.

Triented
Triented
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 14
Musician
Response to Music Making Software Or Similar? Sep. 26th, 2012 @ 07:00 AM Reply

When I started out, I used a program called Buzz. It is a free program, but you need to take a few tutorials to figure out how to use the thing. It's not very user friendly and is closer to a drum machine than a music composer, even though you CAN use full length songs. I switched from Buzz to FL Studio when I was about 12, and have been using it for the past 6 years. FL Studio, pardoning all of the criticism, is actually a pretty fluid, and can be a top notch program if you know how to fully use it, but at first you will wind up making a bunch of generic sounding techno songs, I think it's that way for pretty much everyone.

BBS Signature
Triented
Triented
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 14
Musician
Response to Music Making Software Or Similar? Sep. 26th, 2012 @ 07:01 AM Reply

At 9/26/12 07:00 AM, Triented wrote: even though you CAN use full length songs.

Pardon me, even though you can MAKE full length songs.*

BBS Signature
Jernemies
Jernemies
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Level 04
Musician
Response to Music Making Software Or Similar? Sep. 26th, 2012 @ 08:23 AM Reply

LMMS is good "to start out" as most guys treat it. IMO though, it's underrated. I still use it, and won't change even if I got a copy of FL studio for free :p

seel
seel
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 21
Musician
Response to Music Making Software Or Similar? Sep. 26th, 2012 @ 09:25 AM Reply