New Topic Respond to this Topic
SeniorWolfy
SeniorWolfy
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 02
Animator
Laptop Fuzz 2012-09-25 17:11:46 Reply

i'm a noob. I'm using audacity on my laptop and my laptop has loads of fuzz -see here- Any way to get rid of it? I tried noise removal but not avail.

You goina pet me or what? | My Animation Cave | Aren't I your favorite? |

BBS Signature
samulis
samulis
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 08
Musician
Response to Laptop Fuzz 2012-09-25 17:17:25 Reply

It sounds to me like your mic is unable to pick up the full range of the human voice by default... so your going to have that slightly slurred and low-fi sound regardless of what you do in post, unless that was just a really really compressed version of your recording you threw up there.

Consider playing around with the denoiser options... try different cutoffs and such- don't expect the default to be right (ever... with anything)! Approach things like this as problems that need to be solved- try all sorts of functions and tools and pipelines and eventually you will find one that works. With audio, there is almost never a 'just do this' that will always fix your recording problems... especially because the idea of 'fixing' problems in already recorded material is not really true, even with EQ and compression and every other tool there is.

My Music - Virtual Instruments - Website
Orchestral/Cinematic Composer

BBS Signature
sorohanro
sorohanro
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 28
Musician
Response to Laptop Fuzz 2012-09-25 17:34:25 Reply

At 9/25/12 05:11 PM, SeniorWolfy wrote: i'm a noob. I'm using audacity on my laptop and my laptop has loads of fuzz -see here- Any way to get rid of it? I tried noise removal but not avail.

Get an external soundcard. You might find some really cheap ones but with a better quality.
http://www.thomann.de/gb/cat.html?gf=usb_audio_interfaces&oa =pra
You may find something under 30 EUR.

MetalRenard
MetalRenard
  • Offline.
Forum Stats