New Topic Respond to this Topic
RazzleDazzleBeatz
RazzleDazzleBeatz
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Instruments? 2012-09-07 13:28:43 Reply

Ok, so I'll cut this quick by saying, I'm a sample artist. Anything involving melodic sounds, I have to sample. I can make my own drums and stuff like that, but actual instruments, I sample. I haven't posted any of my sample workings, other than samples that came with FL Studio, on Newgrounds though, as I know it is against the rules. I also figure that if I want to get any better at this stuff and want to sell it, I'm gonna need my own instruments.

Alright, that's me. Now, I don't know how to add a VST into my FL Studio program, at all. I barely know how to use one all that well. But I'd like to start. Of course, I don't have any plug-ins/VSTs worth anything.. I don't even have any SoundFonts that are all that spectacular..

Does anybody here know of a place or anywhere I can get free plug-ins, soundfonts, instrumental samples, or VSTs that would allow me to legally sell my work? If its a VST or plug-in, how do I "plug-it-in" to my FL Studio? Thanks in advance...

Step
Step
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 25
Musician
Response to Instruments? 2012-09-07 13:57:19 Reply

KVR Audio is the place you want. Lots of free VSTs in there. Almost none of them will sound as good as ones you have to pay for though so I'd highly suggest investing in some VSTs sometime in the future.

Basically, what you have to do to install a VST is to first make a folder called VstPlugins (I'd suggest putting this in your Program Files folder). Then, in FL Studio, go to Options > File Settings and under VST plugins extra search folder browse for the VstPlugins folder you made (this may have been done already for you). Now FL Studio knows where to look for new VSTs.