New Topic Respond to this Topic
Reginaldi
Reginaldi
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Gamer
Guitarist looking for improvment Aug. 9th, 2012 @ 01:07 AM Reply

So I have been playing guitar for the last 7-8 years and try to write a little bit and play what i listen to. Recently a friend of mine has invited me over to just jam and have a good time. i can play along with him rather well, but what im looking for is a fun a cool riff to play and he can follow along to. I play mainly Metal, a lot of Dream Theater, and even some Metallica, im open for just about any suggestion or recommendations. if it sounds cool and isn't hard to play, trying to stay in E tuning, i don't like stopping in the middle of a jam to change from E to D or C.

Chris-V2
Chris-V2
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 20
Musician
Response to Guitarist looking for improvment Aug. 9th, 2012 @ 06:46 AM Reply

Well...what's the problem?

Keeping a guitar in another preffered tuning is fine. Drop D to Standard shouldn't take more than a bar or 2, though! If you DO have a second guitar try keeping it in DAGDAD or a weirder tuning like my favourite EAEF#/AE or a SY type tunning like F#F#F#F#BE.

Oh, and buy a guitar slide. They're just..fun, sometimes!

ChimeraNoise
ChimeraNoise
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 02
Musician
Response to Guitarist looking for improvment Aug. 9th, 2012 @ 09:10 AM Reply

At 8/9/12 01:07 AM, Reginaldi wrote: "...but what im looking for is a fun a cool riff to play..."

If all you're looking for is a cool little riff to play, all you have to do is keep listening to your favorite bands and start writing some riffs. The best things that I've ever come up with are by taking another bands riffs and chords and fitting them to my own style.