ImpendingRiot
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 09
Artist
Free Art Video Lessons 2012-07-15 21:24:30 Reply

Lesson 1 - Opacity
Difficulty Level: Beginner

Hey guys and gals of the art forum. I've noticed I've been telling a lot of people to use a base layer of flat colors set at 100% opacity, and I feel like there's some confusion. It's a common problem I've noticed in new digital artists. So I made a quick little video tutorial where I try to go over some of the basics.

Excuse the quality. It's my first attempt at doing something like this, and narrating while watching a video of yourself drawing is a surreal and difficult experience. If there's a demand for these, I'll try to make more.

Important: During the video I incorrectly stated that blue was red's opposite. Green is red's opposite.

Watch Here

Word to your mother

BBS Signature
Kinsei
Kinsei
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 41
Artist
Response to Free Art Video Lessons 2012-07-15 21:29:19 Reply

At 7/15/12 09:24 PM, ImpendingRiot wrote: Watch Here

I was using lower opacity for quite awhile, but I could never really seem to make it work for me. Well I have been trying to get better and master digital painting recently, which I'm sure you guys are tired of hearing me say that, To the internet I went. After trying what CtrlPaint.com showed me about using a lower flow instead, I have had a much easier time with my painting.
I'll still give the vid a watch though . I'd be pretty dumb to pass up a free lesson.

Whiskey | The Old | The New | Portal | updated sig thanks to gumby

BBS Signature
Fifty-50
Fifty-50
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 16
Artist
Response to Free Art Video Lessons 2012-07-15 21:38:30 Reply

I love you ImpendingRiot.

Now I can finally color like a pro!

Art Thread/NG Art - View it. /I love rainbows do you?/

BBS Signature
ImpendingRiot
ImpendingRiot
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 09
Artist
Response to Free Art Video Lessons 2012-07-15 21:53:27 Reply