New Topic Respond to this Topic
Sandile
Sandile
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 05
Gamer
Help! (I'm a noob) 2012-06-12 15:15:53 Reply

I'm currently making a long game with an extensive story and plot with my friends. I'm mainly the artist, but we've all come to a glitch that we don't know how to fix. The game's a horozontal shooter.

Here's our problem...

Whenever we test the movie and go to the "Level Select > Stage 2", the game always stops a few seconds into the level. We've tried to find out why, but I can't seem to find what's causing it. It also happens when playing through stage 1 and heading straight into Stage 2.

However, if I export the scene instead of the entire movie, it doesn't happen but rather heads straight to the end and loops back to the beginning like normal.

I also noticed that if I added more frames to the previous scene, even if the user never reaches those blank frames, the stopping in the next scene happens earlier.

Full Movie:
http://www.newgrounds.com/dump/item/76a62a7346c0936d219a0982 efdc562a
Only Scene:
http://www.newgrounds.com/dump/item/1461689c451495d190da079e 5052d55f

We have no clue what is going on. My friends have spent hours looking for the cause of the glitch. By the way, we are using Adobe Flash CS5.5 with ActioScript2.

Sandile
Sandile
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 05
Gamer
Response to Help! (I'm a noob) 2012-06-12 15:17:30 Reply

At 6/12/12 03:15 PM, Sandile wrote: Full Movie:
Only Scene:

Sorry, the links are altered above by a space. Here:

Full Movie:

Only Scene:

egg82
egg82
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to Help! (I'm a noob) 2012-06-12 15:46:02 Reply

At 6/12/12 03:15 PM, Sandile wrote: Whenever we test the movie and go to the "Level Select > Stage 2", the game always stops a few seconds into the level. We've tried to find out why, but I can't seem to find what's causing it. It also happens when playing through stage 1 and heading straight into Stage 2.