New Topic Respond to this Topic
doodle-bread14
doodle-bread14
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 04
Programmer
Response to C++ Pawns all other Languages 2012-08-04 15:33:37 Reply

At 8/4/12 01:13 PM, egg82 wrote: Thank Diki for pretty much all of the answers O.o

Diki is the best user on this forum.

It seems that learning C++ and Java at the same time may be a bit of an overload by themselves.

C++ and Java isn't a wise combination.

At least not a muffin.

BBS Signature
DjViking
DjViking
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to C++ Pawns all other Languages 2012-09-15 08:05:14 Reply

This thread is silly,.. OP is silly,
I'm a C++ programmer, been doing it for about 2 years, Still have a lot to learn, C++ was my first and only language, all self taught.

Here's an example of my cope to show my competence

void Load_MapDIR(int& counter = howmanymaps)
{
counter = 1;
std::string buffer;
std::string buffer2;
WIN32_FIND_DATA myimage;
HANDLE myHandle=FindFirstFile("maps\\*.*",&myimage);

if(myHandle!=INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE)
{
       FindNextFile(myHandle,&myimage);
       while(FindNextFile(myHandle,&myimage))
       {
                     buffer = myimage.cFileName;
                     ::buffer = buffer.substr((buffer.size()-3),3);
                    if (::buffer == "map")
                    {
                        ::buffer = buffer;
                        ::buffer.resize(buffer.length() - 4);
                        mapsindir[counter] = ::buffer;
                        ++counter;
                    }
              }
       }
}

it's a function that reads all the names of the files in a directory, then save the names minus the 3 letter extension into an array.
I know I probably shouldn't have named 2 different variables the same thing, but I wanted to try actually using the scope resolution operator in a function,

DjViking
DjViking
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to C++ Pawns all other Languages 2012-09-15 08:08:12 Reply