Be a Supporter!
strawberrymarie
strawberrymarie
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Creating a mood? 2012-05-06 14:43:12 Reply

I have no real music experience, but, Im learning C++ so i can create my own game, and am planning on doing every aspect of it myself--even music. How do you get music to sound as though its... for a desert, or for night time, or for a happy summer day, or for a sad scene. Thanks for any help, examples appreciated.

Rampant
Rampant
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 13
Musician
Response to Creating a mood? 2012-05-06 15:09:22 Reply

At 5/6/12 02:43 PM, strawberrymarie wrote: I have no real music experience, but, Im learning C++ so i can create my own game, and am planning on doing every aspect of it myself--even music. How do you get music to sound as though its... for a desert, or for night time, or for a happy summer day, or for a sad scene. Thanks for any help, examples appreciated.

For desert music, you could always go with the stereotypical "middle eastern scale" (an harmonic minor scale that revolves around the 1-and-a-half steps between the 7th and the tonic). To evoke nighttime, I'd use slow, lush pads or strings, in the minor mode, with "twinkly" sounding instruments (celestes, music boxes, xylophones, etc -- things that sound light). For summer music, major chords with a melody that jumps around (but not over the top). For sad scenes, slow strings, minor chords, and probably a piano line over it.

Example
Example
Example
Example

retrobox2
retrobox2
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Creating a mood? 2012-05-06 15:34:57 Reply

Well all those feeling are created by two things: chords and scales. That is your base for the song feeling and it is going to develop the song entirely.