Be a Supporter!

Keeping brush one thickness?

  • 1,055 Views
  • 9 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
PSP-Monkey
PSP-Monkey
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Keeping brush one thickness? Mar. 5th, 2012 @ 08:08 AM Reply

I find that when I draw my characters for their first frame of animation -- or anything for that matter, not just characters -- I tend to zoom in a lot to fill in details and get a closer look at what I'm drawing. But doing this causes my graphics to each have lines with different a different thickness. One character will have thick lines, another character will have really thin lines.

Just now the only solution I can come up with is to drag another graphic on to the stage to compare the brush size to. Is there no way to lock the brush to one size, even if I zoom in?

Croire
Croire
  • Member since: May. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Animator
Response to Keeping brush one thickness? Mar. 5th, 2012 @ 09:14 AM Reply

The short answer is "...Nope"

however what I do is limit myself to only zooming in by a certain margin no matter what. This may sound a little vague so basically this is how I keep line thickness consistent.

1- make my brush size the 2nd smallest choice
2- when I zoom in to add detail I always zoom in at the same increment which is easy because on my tablet i just move my finger in a semi circle and it zooms in the same amount always.
3- once I'm zoomed in I change the brush size one size bigger so it compensates for the zooming I just did and everything stays consistent.

This is basically the best way I've found to keep line thickness consistent. I had the same issue as you for a while. Hope my tip helps.

PSP-Monkey
PSP-Monkey
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Keeping brush one thickness? Mar. 5th, 2012 @ 11:46 AM Reply

Well it's good to know theres not a hidden setting I've been missing all these years. I guess I'll just try to work around it with what I have.

Sacros
Sacros
  • Member since: Aug. 1, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 20
Animator
Response to Keeping brush one thickness? Mar. 5th, 2012 @ 12:27 PM Reply

croire is right, there is not magic behind it or at least not one im aware of

still, from what ive read, you tend to spend much time adding details on your first frame and i think THATS your problem

you can have a character design and some keyframes very detailed but not first frame, i know how it is, you want to draw something nice ASAP but if thats the case then do character design, you want consistency rather than detail

so once you are feeling less like drawing and more like animating try to draw everything on a set zoom, IT DOESNT MEAN LESS DETAIL, you can have as many details as you want, detail doesnt equal different line thinkness


ama gon chill

kmau
kmau
  • Member since: Sep. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Animator
Response to Keeping brush one thickness? Mar. 5th, 2012 @ 01:50 PM Reply

You can adjust thickness better in Flash CS5.


BBS Signature
leocartoon1
leocartoon1
  • Member since: Sep. 1, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Animator
Response to Keeping brush one thickness? Mar. 5th, 2012 @ 06:14 PM Reply

This is really an irritating thing that is one of the reasons I don't like Flash really much.
The brush size should zoom in along with your canvas.

Emrox
Emrox
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Animator
Response to Keeping brush one thickness? Mar. 5th, 2012 @ 09:38 PM Reply

At 3 hours ago, leocartoon1 wrote: This is really an irritating thing that is one of the reasons I don't like Flash really much.
The brush size should zoom in along with your canvas.

That's what the pencil tool is for, son.


BBS Signature
Croire
Croire
  • Member since: May. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Animator
Response to Keeping brush one thickness? Mar. 6th, 2012 @ 11:26 AM Reply

At 13 hours ago, Emrox wrote:
At 3 hours ago, leocartoon1 wrote: This is really an irritating thing that is one of the reasons I don't like Flash really much.
The brush size should zoom in along with your canvas.
That's what the pencil tool is for, son.

The pencil tool is more consistent but it's so....bland.

Pegosho
Pegosho
  • Member since: Nov. 17, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Animator
Response to Keeping brush one thickness? Mar. 6th, 2012 @ 12:10 PM Reply

You have to keep a tendency. In my case, I have a tendency to make a rough sketch and then zoom 200% and use the second smallest brush and make the clean lines. And keep doing that for everything else, unless the object is far away, it's better to use thin lines or no lines at all to create the effect of distance.

leocartoon1
leocartoon1
  • Member since: Sep. 1, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Animator
Response to Keeping brush one thickness? Mar. 6th, 2012 @ 02:03 PM Reply

At 2 hours ago, Croire wrote:
At 13 hours ago, Emrox wrote:
At 3 hours ago, leocartoon1 wrote: This is really an irritating thing that is one of the reasons I don't like Flash really much.
The brush size should zoom in along with your canvas.
That's what the pencil tool is for, son.
The pencil tool is more consistent but it's so....bland.

There's no variation in the line weight...
That's why it's bland.