Be a Supporter!
protoAuthor
protoAuthor
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Filmmaker
Screenwriting 101 Feb. 20th, 2012 @ 06:36 PM Reply

Hello, all. I was just browsing this section and thought; "I wonder how many NGers have taken screenwriting classes!".
Strange thought, I know, since you're all twelve-year-olds, but still, I see very few threads about screenwriting in this section, and I don't know whether to chalk that up to everyone knowing how to write a script already, not caring about screenwriting, being satisfied with Microsoft Word, or being too embarrassed to ask, but I figured that no matter what, I'd lend a helping hand. I'm going to e-teach you how to write a screenplay. Hopefully you will e-read, and if you do well, you can e-graduate and get an e-job in the e-business! All joking aside, I think that; despite me not being an actual certified teacher, I do know a bit about the practicality of screenwriting, and some of you may benefit from reading this thread. Some of you already know this stuff, I know, and if you do, you're welcome and encouraged to add your own input, as long as you're not just calling me a knowitall fag. Give some insights into your process as well, THEN call me a fag.
So, I'll start off by shattering the dream. Scriptwriting is not always a magical artistic process. Sometimes, you have to get shit done on a deadline. Sometimes you look back on your work and get embarrassed. You won't always have inspiration, nor enough time to seek it. Hopefully these steps will help some of you get through those dark times where inspiration is fleeting.

First step: Have a workable idea.