New Topic Respond to this Topic
ZiggyZack99
ZiggyZack99
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 15
Melancholy
Help with configuring a low end box 2011-12-10 23:30:46 Reply

Hey guys, I recently purchased a cheap KVM VPS to run my sites and IRC scripts on. The uptime of the physical machine is perfect, but I keep running in to the memory limit, especially with MySQL and Apache. I'm a novice to Linux administration, so I was hoping you folks could help.
Here's the output of `free` while the VPS is idle:

> free
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:        126500     113024      13476          0       6028      41208
-/+ buffers/cache:      65788      60712
Swap:       242680      24080     218600

With the help of LowEndBox, I've already taken a few steps, like uninstalling portmap, replacing rsyslog with inetutils-syslogd, tweaking my.cnf to the lowest runnable settings, and lowering the number of Apache slaves. I've also uninstalled oidentd and I've decided to use SFTP in OpenSSH instead of running a standalone ftpd. However, I'm still hovering uncomfortably close to the 128MB limit.
Any pointers?
Output of `ps aux`: http://pastebin.com/1eghcJ46
I'm running Debian 6, PHP 5, Apache 2, MySQL 5, Webmin 1.5, supybot, a PHP IRC bot I wrote, OpenSSH 5.5, ZNC, and I think that's it.

n/a

kiwi-kiwi
kiwi-kiwi
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 09
Programmer
Response to Help with configuring a low end box 2011-12-11 04:19:13 Reply

unless you need a mail server you could also uninstall postfix

ZiggyZack99
ZiggyZack99
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 15
Melancholy
Response to Help with configuring a low end box 2011-12-11 11:43:03 Reply

At 12/11/11 04:19 AM, kiwi-kiwi wrote: unless you need a mail server you could also uninstall postfix

Well, I have to be able to send mail from PHP scripts. That's the only reason I have it installed in the first place.

n/a

citricsquid
citricsquid
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 23
Blank Slate