W3R3W00F
W3R3W00F
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 08
Artist
"Irrational" time signatures? 2011-09-14 00:23:13 Reply

Hi guys. :) I have an unusual question.

I'm studying time signatures: Particularly, "Irrational" time signatures. Irrational time signatures are time signatures that don't have a denominator to a power of 2 (E.g., 3/10, 5/6, 4/3). Here's a line of text copied from the Wikipedia page.

"Notationally, rather than using Cowell's elaborate series of notehead shapes, the same convention has been invoked as when normal tuplets are written; for example, one beat in 4/5 is written as a normal quarter note, four quarter notes complete the bar, but the whole bar lasts only 4/5 of a reference whole note, and a beat 1/5 of one (or 4/5 of a normal quarter note). This is notated in exactly the same way that one would write if one were writing the first four quarter notes of five quintuplet quarter notes."

With that in mind, I tried to create 4/5 time as well as I could using FL Studio 10... however, I have no idea if I even read the Wikipedia article correctly and if the end result matches up with what the article said. :P

In the picture, I've selected only the first 4 light green colored quintuplet quarter notes, since 4 quintuplet quarter notes complete 1 bar in 4/5. The last light purple colored quintuplet quarter note is just a reference to show you that I've equally divided a 4/4 bar into 5 quintuplet quarter notes, but only used the first 4.

Seriously, I have no clue if I'm doing this right. I'm just curious and exploring what's musically possible. That's why I'm wondering if any of you know if I'm doing this correctly.

Thanks in advance! :)

Just a starving artist. Nothing new.

ProudAardvark
ProudAardvark
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to "Irrational" time signatures? 2011-09-14 01:01:16 Reply