00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

markololohands just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Background Art, Constructive Wanted

2,498 Views | 5 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hiya, My name is Greg. I am a programmer in AS2 online and artist on Pencil and Paper. I do not have a tablet so my art from it can't transfer over. I use a mouse and I started with something simple. Backgrounds. I did a few pieces in flash And I know they are crap but please tell what needs improvement :P. Read what is next to links. I will upload 2 examples.

Kitchen Outline: This is a kitchen outline I did for an animation I never finished. All done using line tool. Perspective right? What looks wrong?

Platforms:These are some platforms, trees and walls I did for a mini-game. Would you play a game with graphics like this? If so, what kind of game?

BBS Signature

Response to Background Art, Constructive Wanted 2011-06-24 05:25:45

Programming, good. Well, I'll try to help out a bit here. Namely by ripping one thing apart, but hey.

Before I go into this, from what I can tell, the second thing has nothing seriously wrong with it due to its simplicity. Its style is such that not very much can be ascertained from it. I would say to change the tree trunks from squares to more organic shaping.

Anyhow,

At 6/24/11 05:01 AM, Kibester wrote:
Kitchen Outline: This is a kitchen outline I did for an animation I never finished. All done using line tool. Perspective right? What looks wrong?

I'm guessing this is older.

First off, the window is off. As illustrated, this is due to the lines not matching up with its lower counterparts. The lower two appear to follow each other appropriately, but the top one does not. This gives the appearance of an extremely unusually shaped window.