00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Zpredojev just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

How Do Envelopes Work?

1,321 Views | 17 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

How Do Envelopes Work? 2011-03-19 12:23:20

I've been meaning to ask this for a long time, but how do envelopes work?

I use FL Studio(yes, I'm a huge noob :P gimmie a break.), and I'm trying to make some dance music, but I don't know how to do shit with envelops so I'm obviously not getting far.

Someone help me please?

:D

How Do Envelopes Work?

Response to How Do Envelopes Work? 2011-03-19 12:36:58

You put a letter in them, seal em' up, then put a stamp and address and people get them in the mail

Response to How Do Envelopes Work? 2011-03-19 12:45:54

In recording terms, an envelope is all of the settings that change the application of an effect, or volume, or panning. "Change the envelope of that reverb so that it just hits at the end of the track," (for example)

Envelopes can be used in a number of ways. You've probably already used envelopes on your volume and pan settings, whether you're aware of it or not. With effects, they can be especially valuable; you can increase effects during certain parts of a song, giving you almost unlimited, easy-to-use power over the sound of your recordings.