New Topic Respond to this Topic
VegetarianMeat
VegetarianMeat
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 18
Musician
Calling sound & use of dynamic text May. 23rd, 2010 @ 01:04 AM Reply

I have two questions, but I figured I'd keep them both in one post.

1st question:
I want to use Action Script to start a sound. I've looked around, but everything I see seems to be way too fancy for my level. I am a beginner, and pretty much know extremely little about how all this stuff works. I figure it would be a simple single line of code, but when I checked (I googled 'using sound in action script') I didn't find anything useful for me.

2nd question:
I have a string of dynamic text. I assigned it a name and on the first frame of the timeline I set that variable to equal a certain number. That's irrelevant, because it works fine. The variable I entered into the timeline works as it should. When I try and rotate the dynamic text though, so that it's not just plain horizontal, it seems to break it's function, and doesn't display the variable I assigned. I checked to make sure, and it still had the same variable name. Am I not able to rotate dynamic text without breaking the variable function?

Thanks in advance. You guys are always helpful here :)

VegetarianMeat
VegetarianMeat
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 18
Musician
Response to Calling sound & use of dynamic text May. 23rd, 2010 @ 05:28 PM Reply

New issue: tried the game on a different PC - the font of the dynamic text is different from the one I used in the original flash. I'm guessing that's because I downloaded the font online somewhere so this computer doesn't have it. Besides telling whoever plays the game to download the font, is there any way around this problem?

Torrunt
Torrunt
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 22
Programmer
Response to Calling sound & use of dynamic text May. 24th, 2010 @ 08:51 AM Reply

@ Q1: Depends on what AS version you're using.