00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

TheADHX just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Hunter and pet

1,027 Views | 9 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hunter and pet 2010-03-12 00:32:08

Recently finished this and since I'm not scouted or w/e it is on the art portal decided to post it here to get some exposure, maybe some comments / suggestions. Realize its not great and all, I'm still learning how to color properly and the background is bad, but meh. Enjoy if you can, flame on if you must, refrain from abuse if possible.

Hunter and pet

Response to Hunter and pet 2010-03-12 17:08:02

- The entire torso is way too thin.
- The knees are also terribly thin.
- The hands are different sizes.
- The tiger's forearm is a blob
- The background looks like a greenscreen effect aka there is no depth.
- The arrow he's cocking is nearly twice as long as the arrows in his quiver.

Response to Hunter and pet 2010-03-12 17:49:18

Since one review was done, I guess I had too...

The first thing to notice is the colors. One simply cannot miss those. They are vibrant and strong. This hurts and helps your picture all at the same time. The things that stand out the most is the tiger, the belt, the bottom edge of the breastplate and pieces of the pillar in the background. These extra bright areas do help get your work noticed, but at the same time can pull the viewers eye away from the action, inevitably harming it.

Perspective is the next thing on the list. Cutting off the character at the ankles is already a big no-no when it comes to composition, but it also makes it hard for one to see if the character is in perspective with the background. This also separates the background from the characters, giving a disconnected feel.