Be a Supporter!

Scriptwriting links and help

• 1 Reply
New Topic Respond to this Topic
<deleted>
Scriptwriting links and help 2010-01-26 17:56:06 Reply

Because of the potential market for user-created scripts amongst Flash artists (I know there's long been a denial about this and that writing is essentially the element that can taken or left, but for the sake of getting collabs ready, let's be positive here), I thought it might be handy to post a couple of links that can help with scriptwriting and also let anyone else suggest sites/software.

This is more or less about the technical stuff in scriptwriting, and I'll warn you that I'm still learning myself. It might be cool to get some links to sites where professionals talk about what producers and so on tend to go for, but that's obviously not everyone's goal.

Firstly - Celtx, a program I've boned about (yes) on the BBS before, and I have little reason to doubt it at this stage. The greatest feature of the program is that it's so very easy to format your stuff in it, a drop down list letting you choose which pieces of text should be what; enter and tab generally act as hotkeys for moving through your scripts too. The site offers some video walkthrus, not many of which may be useful, but the feature overview video is a good place to get started There are additional features which may be useful or may not be - I'm guessing that at this stage, they will be less useful, as sharing them requires Celtx Studios, which unfortunately isn't free. Still, scripts can exported as text files in Celtx anyway, and they can be uploaded somewhere for artists or whoever else.