WritersBlock
WritersBlock
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 13
Writer
Response to Writing Forum Lounge Apr. 7th, 2010 @ 11:52 AM Reply

At 4/6/10 11:55 AM, Wolf-Raven wrote:
At 4/5/10 10:59 PM, Nemo wrote: Hey everyone. It's my first time in this forum, but I figured with a B.A. in English I might enjoy talking with people about literature.
Well drink it in, cuz it's the only thing an english major can get you! AHA HA HA HA...says the philosophy major...

If you write, it'll be welcome!

Tell me about it... I'm doing Creative Writing/Literary and Cultural Studies double major. People ask me all the time if it's like journalism. I tell them no. They ask what sort of job I can get. Basically, it means I can write books and cricise stuff. I could potentially fuse the two together and write books about criticising stuff, but I already own enough books about that sort of thing anyway, so that's pretty pointless. When it comes down to it, I've got my goal of getting a novel past the draft stage and into the publication stage, and I guess my degree qualifies me to do that, amongst other things (ie scriptwriting), and on the other side, my degree qualifies me as a critic, well, more than your average youtuber with a camera talking about the latest blockbuster. I'm talking full-blown semiotic analyses, which could indeed place me in a journalistic position to review media such as films, books and music from a cultural/semiotic position. Is there a job market for that level of analysis? Eh, whatever, I've still got two years to work it out.

READ: "A Fear of Great Heights" and other forthcoming adventures right HERE
Signature Picture by: Spartan204

BBS Signature
munio
munio
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to Writing Forum Lounge Apr. 7th, 2010 @ 12:28 PM Reply

heey i'm thinking about writing a short story with a pschyciatric patient as the main character
but, and this is where it gets original, the narrator will be one of the voice the patient hears