New Topic Respond to this Topic
nathanallenpinard
nathanallenpinard
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Terrible Film Scores 2009-11-28 16:32:55 Reply

Look I love the classics too, but you saying that Zimmer's music is simplistic is a bit off, as a lot of the earlier classics can be analyzed to be something simplistic as well. They got more and more complicated and abstract as time went on (depending on the composer of course) then we moved to jazz, then we moved to rock n' roll, then pop, rap, metal, etc.

Now we enjoy a huge variety of music compared to our ancestors. You saying that Zimmer has no musical talent is a false argument. You CAN say he had no formal training, but to say he has 0 music talent is wrong. You are basing it all out of opinion, your opinion. If your going to say Zimmer has 0 musical talent, then you are pretty much forced to say Danny Elfman has 0 musical talent, as they are both untrained musicians that self-taught themselves.

Then we can take James Horner, who was trained at some of the best colleges for music (can't remember which one) and call him super talented. Which is fine, however he copy/pastes his scores from his other films like no other.

Calamaistr
Calamaistr
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 16
Musician
Response to Terrible Film Scores 2009-11-28 16:47:59 Reply

At 11/28/09 04:32 PM, nathanallenpinard wrote: Look I love the classics too, but you saying that Zimmer's music is simplistic is a bit off, as a lot of the earlier classics can be analyzed to be something simplistic as well. They got more and more complicated and abstract as time went on (depending on the composer of course) then we moved to jazz, then we moved to rock n' roll, then pop, rap, metal, etc.