Be a Supporter!

hosting software?

  • 758 Views
  • 7 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
ButtheadMoto
ButtheadMoto
  • Member since: Apr. 10, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
hosting software? 2001-07-21 00:33:56 Reply

anyone know of a good web hosting software for windows... apache, etc.???

hosting software?

ButtheadMoto
ButtheadMoto
  • Member since: Apr. 10, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to hosting software? 2001-07-21 18:58:28 Reply

anyone???

hosting software?

Pecos
Pecos
  • Member since: Dec. 29, 1999
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to hosting software? 2001-07-23 10:20:38 Reply

At 7/21/01 12:33 AM, ButtheadMoto wrote: anyone know of a good web hosting software for windows... apache, etc.???

Go with Apache. Or if you're a huge Microsoft fan you can run IIS in NT.

stefen
stefen
  • Member since: Jul. 23, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to hosting software? 2001-07-24 13:46:49 Reply

At 7/21/01 12:33 AM, ButtheadMoto wrote: anyone know of a good web hosting software for windows... apache, etc.???

OmniHTTPd is pretty good.. It ships with PHP4 already installed, and has a fair number of features. I use it to develop all my scripts.

Sambar Server is also pretty good. It's got FTP and email servers built in, and it's very configurable.

Both can be downloaded for free. If you're running Windows NT, you may want to give IIS a try, too.

HTH :)

ButtheadMoto
ButtheadMoto
  • Member since: Apr. 10, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to hosting software? 2001-07-25 00:22:08 Reply

At 7/23/01 10:20 AM, MassiveBit wrote:
At 7/21/01 12:33 AM, ButtheadMoto wrote: anyone know of a good web hosting software for windows... apache, etc.???
Go with Apache. Or if you're a huge Microsoft fan you can run IIS in NT.

i have apache and have been messing around with it. but i keep getting the same error message when i run a php script that uses the POST method... do i need to configure apache, php, or both...

here is the error...

hosting software?

Pecos
Pecos
  • Member since: Dec. 29, 1999
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to hosting software? 2001-07-25 07:26:00 Reply

At 7/25/01 12:22 AM, ButtheadMoto wrote: i have apache and have been messing around with it. but i keep getting the same error message when i run a php script that uses the POST method... do i need to configure apache, php, or both...

here is the error...

Well, I'm not sure because I did this a while ago, but you might have to install a php module for apache to handle php requests. Look on apache.org for a php mod.

ButtheadMoto
ButtheadMoto
  • Member since: Apr. 10, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to hosting software? 2001-07-25 21:51:37 Reply


Well, I'm not sure because I did this a while ago, but you might have to install a php module for apache to handle php requests. Look on apache.org for a php mod.

i figured it out... i had to fix "httpd.conf" to accept php files and locate php.exe . it works know, so thanks for your help.

-ButtheadMoto

ButtheadMoto
ButtheadMoto
  • Member since: Apr. 10, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to hosting software? 2001-07-25 21:53:31 Reply

At 7/25/01 09:51 PM, ButtheadMoto wrote:

Well, I'm not sure because I did this a while ago, but you might have to install a php module for apache to handle php requests. Look on apache.org for a php mod.
i figured it out... i had to fix "httpd.conf" to accept php files and locate php.exe . it works know, so thanks for your help.

-ButtheadMoto

"it works now" oops

thanks again