New Topic Respond to this Topic
gumOnShoe
gumOnShoe
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 15
Blank Slate
Response to College Life Club Dec. 13th, 2008 @ 10:17 PM Reply

At 12/13/08 10:08 PM, Earfetish wrote: I am in my last year of uni at Lancaster studying English Language and Creative Writing.

I'm minoring in that stuff. Are they forcing the 'Literary World View' on you too? The one where Genre Writing is evil stuff and should never be written by anyone with any amount of self respect?

Newgrounds Anthology? 20,000 Word Max. [Submit]

Music? Click Sig:

BBS Signature
Earfetish
Earfetish
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 43
Melancholy
Response to College Life Club Dec. 13th, 2008 @ 10:43 PM Reply

At 12/13/08 10:17 PM, gumOnShoe wrote: I'm minoring in that stuff. Are they forcing the 'Literary World View' on you too? The one where Genre Writing is evil stuff and should never be written by anyone with any amount of self respect?

uh no. The Creative Writing part, despite being half my mark, is quite limited - just workshops where we write and then criticise each other's writing, so I guess we largely focus on honing down words and criticising characters or their motivations. As far as English Language is concerned, we're more being indoctrinated into 'the English language changes all the time and that's totally fine, describe deviancy but don't condemn it' kinda mindset. I've learnt a few interesting things but all I've really got out of it is an improved ability as a writer; English Language isn't particularly thrilling. I know quite a lot of technical things about written English and spoken English but very rarely is it useful. Maybe studying politeness was useful.

Earfetish
Earfetish
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 43
Melancholy
Response to College Life Club Dec. 13th, 2008 @ 10:48 PM Reply