Be a Supporter!

Journey to the East ~P~

Download this song! Lights Expand Collapse

Credits & Info

Date
03/28/2009
File Info
Song
6.7 MB
3 min 40 sec
Score
4.37 / 5.00

Related Content

Heard in 2 Entries!


View all submissions featuring this audio file.

Licensing Terms

Attribution:
You must give credit to the artist.
Noncommercial:
You may not use this work for commercial purposes unless you make specific arrangements with the artist.
Share Alike:
If you alter, transform, or build upon this image, you may distribute the resulting creation only under a license identical to this one.
Score:
Rated 4.37 / 5 stars
Plays & Downloads:
36,430 Plays | 7,775 Downloads
Share Links:
Genres:
Easy Listening - Classical
Tags:
None

Author Comments

This song was written for the Represent a Country 2 contest in the Audio Forum. The country I chose... China!
I had lots of fun writing this song, and I hope everyone has an equally enjoyable time listening!

~Phyrnna ^_^

P.S. Whoever said that you need weird instruments and oddball pitchbends to sound Asian? :P

::EDIT::
Learn your instruments! :D
The "koto" that comes in at 1:42, is NOT a koto! *gasp* It's actually the parent instrument to the koto, the Chinese Guzheng. http://en.wikipedia.org/w iki/ Guzheng

::EDIT 3/31/09::
Edited it a little bit to make it sound a bit fuller in some parts.

::EDIT 4/7/09::
Final edit to this song. This time strings. :D

::Represent A Country 2 Results!::
My song came in first place!
The scores for my song were:
Viewer: 10
Representation: 6
Originality: 8
Sound: 12
Entertainment: 1
Total: 37

Congrats to PenguinSam for getting second, Gasmasq for getting third, SownShadowFox for getting fourth, and zomgKerrie for getting fifth!

Reviews


PenguinSamPenguinSam

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 31, 2009

Yay Pentatonics!

I love the feel to this song. It has a soundtrack tone to it that I personaly like. I can see someone talking to their kung-fu master at the Great Wall of China speaking of something. I can't tell what though, because they speak Chinese! I love the realaxing feel to it as well!

There is a lot of underappreciation for this style of music.

Oh yeah, I love the use of the pentatonic scale in this song! For all of those reading this, major and minor pentatonic scalesare the basis of eastern music while western is based of of major and minor scales with seven notes.

Good luck! I'll see you in the finals!

<PS>


People find this review helpful!
HalcyonicFalconX responds:

Yay for Music theory! :D
I was aiming a bit for the soundtrack feel, especially in some of the heavier parts of the song.

I'm glad that you're appreciating it. ^_^ <3

You know, I completely didn't think about the pentatonic scale that I was using in writing this. But now that you mention it, very true. This does fit that scale and I definitely make a good use of that scale. I'm glad you recognized it! :D


AlxEllisAlxEllis

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 21, 2009

Awesome song!

ove the oriental feel it has and yes sounds like real instruments was perfect for Epic Battle Fantasy 2 would also be good for a movie definetly! =D very nice work


People find this review helpful!

DjTranciteDjTrancite

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 3, 2009

OH GOD..

I Hope I Don't Gotta Face This ... Lol :D

Good Job..

Nice And Clean.

Original.

5'd
10'd

Gl In Comp..

<DjT>


People find this review helpful!
HalcyonicFalconX responds:

Awww, I'm sure your song will be great too! :D
Thanks for the compliments too.
Good luck to you also for the competition!


madnessday2006madnessday2006

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2009

very good

this is like a classic asian song keep it up


People find this review helpful!

ThanhLongThanhLong

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2010

You should've seen it...

I beat the mammoth, I skim through the comic dialogue, I start walking around in the desert area and- I hear this. Then I stop. "Huh?" I think, and then my mind says "This is the desert...then why...but..." and I stop myself. I just realized it. I don't CARE! I absolutely love the theme. The tune seems to work together to fight with itself, however you wish to interpret that, and it works. A chaotically harmonious track that incorporates energy and elegance without missing a beat, I can see why you'd won first place.