Be a Supporter!

Journey to the East ~P~

Download this song! Lights Expand Collapse

Credits & Info

Date
03/28/2009
File Info
Song
6.7 MB
3 min 40 sec
Score
4.37 / 5.00

Related Content

Heard in 2 Entries!


View all submissions featuring this audio file.

Licensing Terms

Attribution:
You must give credit to the artist.
Noncommercial:
You may not use this work for commercial purposes unless you make specific arrangements with the artist.
Share Alike:
If you alter, transform, or build upon this image, you may distribute the resulting creation only under a license identical to this one.
Score:
Rated 4.37 / 5 stars
Plays & Downloads:
36,432 Plays | 7,775 Downloads
Share Links:
Genres:
Easy Listening - Classical
Tags:
None

Author Comments

This song was written for the Represent a Country 2 contest in the Audio Forum. The country I chose... China!
I had lots of fun writing this song, and I hope everyone has an equally enjoyable time listening!

~Phyrnna ^_^

P.S. Whoever said that you need weird instruments and oddball pitchbends to sound Asian? :P

::EDIT::
Learn your instruments! :D
The "koto" that comes in at 1:42, is NOT a koto! *gasp* It's actually the parent instrument to the koto, the Chinese Guzheng. http://en.wikipedia.org/w iki/ Guzheng

::EDIT 3/31/09::
Edited it a little bit to make it sound a bit fuller in some parts.

::EDIT 4/7/09::
Final edit to this song. This time strings. :D

::Represent A Country 2 Results!::
My song came in first place!
The scores for my song were:
Viewer: 10
Representation: 6
Originality: 8
Sound: 12
Entertainment: 1
Total: 37

Congrats to PenguinSam for getting second, Gasmasq for getting third, SownShadowFox for getting fourth, and zomgKerrie for getting fifth!

Reviews


zomgkerriezomgkerrie

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 30, 2009

man, i want some chinese food...

you did a nice job of creating an eastern feel without all the pitchbend things i can tell you're not a fan of ^_^

i think the melody was powerful, but would have been nice to change it up for the slower section and made it more legato, instead of the "orchestral hit" effect it was having...maybe underneath the flute/piccolo melody in the middle section?

also....<3 for flutes and piccolos. (i'm a classically trained flautist, so i'm biased lol) if you ever need a live flute for anything, let me know:D

great effect, and well representative of china!
best of luck!


HalcyonicFalconX responds:

I can cook Chinese food for you! ^_~

Hmm, I seem to have troubles with legato strings because of my lack of good samples. x_x But I agree that the strings under the flutes could be better. :P

<3 I love the flute and the piccolo. Especially the piccolo. Such an underappreciated instrument.
And I would so <3 <3 <3 you if you were able to make live flute recordings! :D I'll keep that in mind next time I write a song with flute. I'll write you a solo part to record! :D

Thank you very much for the review! Good luck in the contest to you! ^_^ <3


LK412LK412

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 29, 2009

Wow!!

You definitley stuck to your theme REAAAlLLY well.

I loved the strings that come in at :24

The percs were really amazing, gave a real powerful effect to the song.

I liked the Koto? that came in at 1:42, really upped the energy level of the song.

The flute wasmy favorite part by far though. I always loved the flute.

Outro was simply amazing.

5/5 10/10 Really great work. Hope you do well in the contest!


HalcyonicFalconX responds:

Thank you very much! I was trying to stick to my theme without following the stereotype of pitch bending.
The strings I agree came out very well. That's because instead of using a single sound for "Strings" in their entirety, I orchestrated out parts for each part of the strings. Hence the full range of strings are represented - First Violins, Second Violins, Violas, and Celli.

That wasn't actually a koto, but the predecessor known as the Guzheng. The koto was invented after the Guzheng and based on it, hence the similar sounds.

As for the flute, there's only one flute part from 1:16 to 1:28 when I layered the woodwinds. The "flute" that enters in at 1:02 is actually a piccolo playing at an octave lower than it would usually be playing. At 1:29 is a second piccolo also doing about the same. But by layering these on top of each other, I can get a nice unique sound out of them. And yes, the solo in the outro is my favorite.

Thank you very much, I hope you do well too!

~Phyrnna ^_^


jesusbandyjesusbandy

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 29, 2009

this is really good

you did a fantastic job getting an asian feel into this piece. no criticism from me


HalcyonicFalconX responds:

Thank you, I'm glad that you think that. I tend to stay away from weird pitch bends since I know that you can make an Asian sounding melody without them. I'm glad I accomplished that.


FierraFierra

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 28, 2009

Needs lyrics badly o.o

I can imagine some ethnic woman like being all cute and singing all awesome over this. <3
I'll shut up.


HalcyonicFalconX responds:

Thanks for the review nonetheless!
<3


YuskiYuski

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 28, 2009

Hehe, sounds like a video game.

The game sounds like Journey to the West type of song.

Is that where you got the name?


HalcyonicFalconX responds:

Indeed. I did get the name from Journey to the West. I've loved that story, and I decided to use inspiration from that. Of course, I decided to title it Journey to the East because I used a lot of non-asian instruments in it to play an Asian melody.