Be a Supporter!
Okami Brush Gods

Click on an icon to vote on this!

Credits & Info

Views
12,882
Score
4.87 / 5.00

Date
11/28/2013
Category
Illustration
File Info
2200 x 1719 px
JPG
3.2 mb
Tags
gods
fanart
okami
amaterasu
  • Frontpaged November 30, 2013

Share this submission?


Related Stuff

Licensing Terms

You are free to copy, distribute and transmit this work under the following conditions:

Attribution:
You must give credit to the artist.
Noncommercial:
You may not use this work for commercial purposes unless you make specific arrangements with the artist.
No Derivative Works:
You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Author Comments

The Okami Brush Gods.

I started this piece well over a year ago. I sketched it out and put down the base colours, but then got completely stumped on how to handle the painting! I've never done a piece with this many characters before and I really was intimidated by the complexity.

Fast forward to now and I happened to come across the piece buried at the bottom of my art folder and rose to the challenge of finishing it.

I'm really happy with the lighting, although I didn't use references so there's definitely gonna be some issues in places!!

Reviews


PurpleWind64PurpleWind64

Rated 5 / 5 stars Dec 2, 2013

My god...
Pun more or less intended.


People find this review helpful!

N1nj4XN1nj4X

Rated 5 / 5 stars Dec 1, 2013

What if Kratos were an animal? It was the first thing that crossed my mind (I have a very unusual imagination).

Anyway, not only quite liked the way it was colorful, but as the shading was done. Since the light in the center, highlighting the whole design, even the most detailed areas, like the scales of the dragon.
I think the only thing missing was a dog there, hah.



SabtasticSabtastic

Rated 5 / 5 stars Nov 29, 2013

I love how much effort and detail was put into this piece. It turned out great!
The thick black outlines are a nice touch and echo the game's visual style, and each character looks consistent in terms of brush strokes and overall technique. I think the only thing that bugs me compositionally is that the top of the dragon was cut off at the top right, when everything else is so beautifully framed. I feel like it could have been used more effectively in that sense, but aesthetically it doesn't hurt the piece much.

Keep up the amazing work!
Also featured this on the NG_Art twitter page!

http://twitter.com/NG_Artists/statuses/406444416451104768


People find this review helpful!
Louise-Goalby responds:

Thank you so much for your kind words and for featuring it, I really, really appreciate it!!!

I cropped the image as I felt otherwise the gods at the bottom were too far to the bottom of the piece. I understand what you mean though, I could have positioned the dragon's body a bit better to help with framing. Thank you for the critique!!


VidamourVidamour

Rated 5 / 5 stars Dec 6, 2013

This is f*cking sick!... Love it.


People find this review helpful!

Alef321Alef321

Rated 5 / 5 stars Dec 4, 2013

are you Ami himself? cuz you gotta have a godly brush to create this masterpiece


People find this review helpful!