Be a Supporter!
Okami Brush Gods

Click on an icon to vote on this!

Credits & Info

Views
12,014
Score
4.87 / 5.00

Date
11/28/2013
Category
Illustration
File Info
2200 x 1719 px
JPG
3.2 mb
Tags
gods
fanart
okami
amaterasu
  • Frontpaged November 30, 2013

Share this submission?


Related Stuff

More art from this artist:


Connor Kenway Assassins Creed Miss Riding Hood Orochi vs Okami London's Lost Giant You Can't Ignore Me, Naruto!! Snow . Warframe Ember Prime Gyarados vs Charizard

Licensing Terms

You are free to copy, distribute and transmit this work under the following conditions:

Attribution:
You must give credit to the artist.
Noncommercial:
You may not use this work for commercial purposes unless you make specific arrangements with the artist.
No Derivative Works:
You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Author Comments

The Okami Brush Gods.

I started this piece well over a year ago. I sketched it out and put down the base colours, but then got completely stumped on how to handle the painting! I've never done a piece with this many characters before and I really was intimidated by the complexity.

Fast forward to now and I happened to come across the piece buried at the bottom of my art folder and rose to the challenge of finishing it.

I'm really happy with the lighting, although I didn't use references so there's definitely gonna be some issues in places!!

Reviews


PotentApogeePotentApogee

Rated 5 / 5 stars Nov 30, 2013

I haven't actually played Okami myself, but this is undeniably epic artwork. If the game is as visually stunning as this fanart, then I'll be certain to give it a go.
The attention to outlining for every creature is visibly clean. Perfection on the smoothness side.
Lighting is rather well done too, especially the glowing rays given off from the 'rising sun' in the background. Very reminiscent of Japanese iconography.

Shading is spectacular, one of the most detailed I've ever seen. With the picture resolution, I can make out every circular(?) brush stroke coating each and every spot of the piece. I can actually feel the effort poured into the art.

Though you mention 'issues', I can't actually fault the drawing: if this was drawn by memory or imagination, then it was done brilliantly.

Anyway I'm going to wrap it up since I have an endless river of compliments gushing out after seeing this, which I probably couldn't fit here. I am in awe.

Keep up the art, Louise!

5 / 5


Louise-Goalby responds:

You're extremely kind. Thank you :)


MegaBulborbMegaBulborb

Rated 5 / 5 stars Dec 8, 2013

Holy crap, this is amazing! Great job dude!

I loved Okami! And I hope that they make a proper sequel to it one day.



ElenwydElenwyd

Rated 5 / 5 stars Dec 3, 2013

Brought a tear to my, a painting of one of my most favorite games. Thank you for bringing this gorgous painting to our viewing (and background) pleasure.



mecha2mecha2

Rated 5 / 5 stars Dec 1, 2013

only bad thing about the pic is that its to big to be my wallpaper T.T

6/5


People find this review helpful!

sasuke222200sasuke222200

Rated 5 / 5 stars Dec 8, 2013

Oh HELL yes!